My Alternative to Christmas Shopping

Published December 10, 2014 by mollyglows

 

warmth comes from friends and sof candlelight

I never have enough money to buy the perfect gifts. It’s not that I don’t save, because I follow my budget. It is my budget that prevents my shopping with the wild abandon my friends whine about once the season ends. I refuse to buy regret!

I like cooking and entertaining, so I have a few friends up for dinner and dessert, peppered with telly breaks for favourite shows. It’s not like everything stops for the telly; our conversations ramble on and we tend to take turns following whatever plot there might be. A freshly hoovered floor serves as extra seating and a place to bed down, after too much lager. The next day’s proper fry-up is a group effort. Each person fixes a portion  of the morning meal. Everyone helps with clean up, then they fade away to sleep more at home, deliver their Christmas gifts, the late ones or to play football with the pub team.

Since none of us really have family around, it’s nice to gather as our own, chosen family group. I think this gift, the gift of time and sharing, is more meaningful than running to the shops, spending on credit cards, then eating beans until July!

 

Leave a Reply

